Council of Member Institutions

The Council of Member Institutions (CMI) is composed of institutional representatives appointed by the chief officer of each of the member institutions plus the College of Lake County. The CMI elects its chairperson, vice-chairperson, and representatives to serve on the Governing Board. Those elected to the Governing Board represent the CMI itself and not their individual colleges or universities. The slate of Governing Board candidates usually tries to achieve a balance of public university and private university representatives. They cannot serve on the Governing Board for more than three consecutive two-year terms. The Council considers a variety of matters including recommendations from various Center committees, and in turn advises and assists the Board in matters such as:

  • facilitating inter-institutional communication.

  • facilitating inter-institutional communication.

  • identifying needed instructional support facilities and services.

  • assessing local needs.

  • electing representatives to the Governing Board.


The CMI has significant responsibility for reviewing applications for membership and proposals to bring additional degree or certificate programs to the University Center. They make recommendations to the Governing Board about each program proposal or membership application and the Governing Board (or its Executive Committee) makes the final decision to approve or deny the applications/proposals. 


2020-21 CMI meeting dates: August 13, 2020; November 12, 2020; February 11, 2021; April 8, 2021

Ali O'Brien
Vice President of Community & Workforce Partnerships
Kathryn Wozniak
Assistant Provost for Innovation & Strategic Partnerships / Associate Professor of Educational Technology
Suzanne Depeder
Associate Vice President, Graduate and Adult Admission
Matt Hlinak
Assistant Provost for Continuing Studies & Special Initiatives
Marisa Buscaglia
Director of Enrollment
Trevor James
Associate Dean and Associate Professor/Director of the Business Program, School of Professional Studies
R. Shayne Cofer, Chair
Associate Provost
Ron Smith
Director, Community College Partnerships
Julie Dunston
Director, School of Applied Engineering & Technology / Director, Technology Off Campus Degree Programs
Elza Ibroscheva
Associate Provost & Professor, Mass Communications
Kathy Johnson, Vice Chair
Regional Director, University Academic Programs & Services
Kelly Birky
Interim Associate Director, Marketing & Strategic Communication, Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning